Kimberley Carey
6 min readJun 13, 2016

Part 1/2: So You Want To Get Into Media?

Image Source: Pixabay

Some of you may be wondering what prompted me to write a post on a topic as niche as media planning. Although I no longer work in the agency world, I wanted to share lessons from my 10 year tenure at one of the largest media agencies in the world. Chances are, if you’re reading this, you: (a) are contemplating a job in media planning, (b) have a friend/relative who works in media planning and like many others, you can’t believe it’s a real job, or (3) just landed your first job in media. Chances are, if you’re currently working in media, you “fell into the role.” I’m willing to bet money on it as this is not an atypical response when faced with the question, “So, how did you get into media?” That sentiment is echoed throughout the industry; you are not alone. Chances are when you tell your family members that you work in advertising, they automatically assume that you work in the creative department (even after you explain that you do not). This post is for you: My media champions.

Let’s start out with the inevitable first question: What is media planning and buying? Kantar Media’s defines it as:

“Media planning is one of the four key disciplines within advertising, along with account management, brand planning and developing creative.

Media planning entails finding the most appropriate media platform to advertise the company or client’s brand/product. Media planners determine when, where and how often a message should be placed. Their goal is to reach the right audience at the right time with the right message to generate the desired response and then stay within the designated budget.”

Source: Kantar Media

Most people don’t ponder how advertising is placed. They don’t consider that there is an entire industry dedicated to this arm of advertising. I used to be one of those people. After making the decision to leave the industry, I decided to gather my thoughts — my “tips of the trade” — and memorialize them in a blog post for current and future media folks. The thoughts are my own; however, I did interview some who are still at the agency, as well as current and former clients to bring new perspective to the content. The names of companies, clients, and contributors will remain anonymous. Let’s get started!

No. 1: Understand your client’s business and business goals

Whether you work on beauty, toilet paper or food brands, it is imperative that you understand your client’s business and goals. You wouldn’t take a job without an interview. Or choose a college without knowing what majors are offered. You wouldn’t donate money without details about the organization. You get my point. There is no way to do your job well without a solid understanding of your client’s business. Not only understanding the who (target audience; your client’s bosses), but also the what (what product/service is offered? What are the business goals?), the why (What is the company’s mission? Why do they do what they do?), and the how (how does the product/service benefit customers?). I can’t stress this enough: Make it a point to do your own research. Don’t rely on your client to do this for you; it’s not their responsibility, it’s yours.

No. 2: Start with strategy

My journey through the media world was as such: My first job out of college was as a print buyer. I then moved into print planning/buying, eventually transitioned into a strategy role, and then left the agency life for a client side role where media is handled in-house. My recommendation: Don’t go this route! My experience has given me the hindsight to offer advice to anyone who is just starting out, and that advice is: Start with strategy. Working in a strategy role, you have the opportunity to work across all channels, generally at the macro level. You are charged with determining what media channels to use and understanding how each channel works together to support your client’s goals. In this role, you must have an understanding of each channel in order to ensure that all pieces fit together in a cohesive media plan. The “problem” with my roundabout path was that, by starting in print, I was on a track to become TOO specialized. While this could be a good thing in other industries, it’s actually hinders you in media. When you do make the decision to move out of your niche (and you likely will), it can be extremely difficult if you have too many years of experience with one media channel. The digital and strategy teams wouldn’t even consider my resume because of too much print experience. Even with supplemental experience gained from graduate school and MOOC courses — it was almost impossible. But not one to give up, I continued to pursue until I successfully made the move, and I thrived.. I’m still thriving. (If you want more information on how I was able to overcome these challenges, leave a comment and we’ll connect).

No. 3: All that glitters is not … a great client

Some of the most valuable learning experiences came from, not from the Fortune 500 brands that I worked on, but the lesser known brands. They say “all that glitters is not gold” — and in media, this holds true. I certainly see the glamour of working on a beauty brand or leading soft drink behemoth. There’s a certain cachet. There’s more advertising budgets readily available, more attention from senior management, and the opportunity to work on huge marketing programs. There is a level of excitement for these brands. However, I was in the industry for many years and had yet to hear anything but horror stories. The biggest benefit of working on a massive brand was that it “looks great on a resume.” In my experience, it was the lesser known brands with modest budgets, the challenger brands as they are called, that are fighting for recognition/awareness, that gave me the most rewarding experiences of my career. We had bigger challenges to work through which gave us the opportunity to think outside the box on how to best achieve their goals. It was those clients, for example one in particular that led me to do extensive research to understand what exchange-traded notes are and how they work, that gave me the confidence in my media planning abilities. Because if I could accomplish that, I could accomplish anything and produce great work for any brand.

No. 4: Engage in extracurricular activities

No, not the company softball team (although, I hear it’s fun. It’s not for me, but do you!). What I’m referring to is being “in the know,” following industry happenings. Knowing what accounts are in review and which agencies are pitching the business. Reading about what digital company rebranded or merged with another company. Becoming a proverbial thought leader in the space. How does one achieve this? I made it a point to stay on top of the industry via advertising trades such as AdWeek and Advertising Age. Even before I moved into a more digital-facing role, I was browsing Digiday and following social media updates on Twitter. Anything and everything that would keep me well-versed. I also took advantage of MOOCs, massive open online courses, which offer a great way to brush up on skills, learn skills you didn’t know and earn certificates for completion… and they are FREE! It’s a no-brainer.

No. 5: Ask Questions, Speak Up

In media, there’s nothing worse than a person who sits in a meeting and doesn’t speak. If you’re in a client meeting, it can give off the impression that you’re not a valuable team member. In a sales meeting, it can give off the impression that you weren’t paying attention. Overall, the vibe isn’t a positive one. Some may be insecure, introverted or shy, but it’s a perfect opportunity to consciously push those feelings aside and make your voice heard. Clients want you to bring ideas to the table — otherwise what’s the point in having an agency. If you were invited to a meeting, you have an obligation to make yourself heard. I don’t mean you have to dominate the conversation, but you have ideas (I know you do, you know you do), but no one will know the better if you keep those ideas to yourself. Sales reps want to clarify any questions that you may have — if you don’t understand their offering, there’s little chance of them being considered for a media plan. Ask questions, speak up!

Like what you’ve read so far? Like, leave a comment, share the love!

Coming soon: Part 2/2 So You Want To Get Into Media?