Photo Entry — Washington DC

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. ”― Mark Twain

Kimberly Lombard
3 min readMay 7, 2018

I love to travel. This might be one of the most clichéd and obvious statements of my generation, but I really mean it. Seeing new cities, eating at new restaurants, exploring new neighborhoods, people watching like I majored in anthropology or some shit… I can’t get enough.

So far, I’ve been to 23 U.S. states and 7 countries (soon to be 9). My record isn’t particularly impressive but is at least solidly commendable, and I have been very dedicated to expanding it over the past 10 years or so. Since the most difficult part of traveling is finding the time — and I suddenly have a lot of it — I decided to take this opportunity to book a few trips:

  • Washington DC
  • Columbus, Ohio
  • London, UK
  • Paris, France
  • Montreal, CAN

This particular photo entry is dedicated to my first time visiting Washington DC. Between the good friends I got to see, to the free museums and larger than life monuments, it was a trip for the books.

The White House. Smaller than expected. As many crazies standing out front as expected. No Drumpf sightings, which I’ll count as a win.
The Burning Man exhibition at the Renwick Gallery. Trippy. Tantalizing. Well rounded with everything from oil paintings to dune buggies to VR. Everything you’d ever want out of a Burning Man exhibit.
A particularly chilling & thought provoking exhibit at the National Portrait Gallery about race relations in the US during the 1800’s. Separate note- the National Portrait Gallery is SO much larger than I expected and well worth exploring.
To answer everyone’s questions, yes: the hype is worth it and seeing this in person is 100% mandatory. Author’s note: Michelle’s portrait is also epic but I accidentally deleted that picture off my phone. Her legacy now lives on in the refrigerator magnet I bought from the gift shop.
The Georgetown campus was actually very beautiful in person but this picture is making it look a little culty/ruled with an iron fist. I wonder which perception is right…
These may look like normal steps, but they are the EXORCIST STEPS !!! …Ok they were a little anticlimactic.
The inner basic in me can’t resist rosé season and I will not apologize for it. No way ros… please someone stop me from making this pun. SOS.
WWII Monument was pretty freaking spectacular. Each US State & federal territory are recognized by their own wreath and pillar. I made everyone run around in a circle until we found MA, which I think is the actual purpose of this monument.
The view of the Washington Monument from the steps of the Lincoln Monument. It’s blurry because it spontaneously poured on us during our walk to the monument. =__=
This is a million times bigger than I expected & was absolutely worth getting poured on for. Lookin good, Abe.
MLK Memorial is surrounded by inspirational quotes that all still happen to ring true today.
MLK Memorial. They put a lot of effort into the wrinkles on his jacket and ran out of steam by the time they got to his legs. He was only one of the greatest civil rights leaders in our history, but hey, who needs feet…

--

--