LEGO National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation

Kimberly Faul
3 min readMar 26, 2020

--

You know the story. The Griswold family celebrates Christmas, complete with kicking the shit out of fake reindeer, extended family antics, a sledding saucer straight out the Fast and the Furious and one of the best PG-13 rants to ever grace the big screen.

A still from the movie NATIONAL LAMPOON’S CHRISTMAS VACATION.

It’s one of my favorite movies.

Love it or hate it, as soon as Thanksgiving is over, Christmas movies start playing on cable TV. By December 3rd of 2017, I was already up to my 5th viewing of NATIONAL LAMPOON’S CHRISTMAS VACATION. This is not a complaint. I could watch this movie every day for the entire month of December and be totally okay with it.

By the time I was up to my 6th viewing of this classic Christmas staple, my good friend Rachael on Twitter (https://twitter.com/maxfischers) had sent me a little LEGO Christmas tree in the mail.

The LEGO Christmas tree set Rachael sent to me!

And immediately this scene came to mind:

A screenshot from CHRISTMAS VACATION as the family drives their new Christmas tree home.
A LEGO scene of the Griswold’s car transporting a comically large LEGO pine tree on the roof.

My biggest regret with the tree is that I didn’t add the root system to the base of the tree trunk, because damn it, that would’ve been funny. Minor point, given the fact that the car looks absolutely nothing like the car from the movie.

As I’ve stated in a previous post, my attempts at LEGO vehicles are a sad monument to my shortcomings as a LEGO builder. The car in this picture is not my creation. It’s a re-purposed (read: stolen) car from my LEGO Arkham Asylum set that had been set up in my living room at the time:

A picture of the LEGO Arkham Set (70912).

I just popped the cop lights off from the roof and replaced the doors with plain white 2x4 tiles.

Total fraud, I know.

Gif of the Shame woman from Game of Thrones

Anyway, Merry Christmas…but in March.

This brings the total number of scenes/videos containing LEGO cats up to 3.

--

--

Kimberly Faul

I’m just your average adult trying to escape adult responsibilities by playing with #LEGO. These are my creations.