Toxic Self-Care Has No Benefits

Here’s what you can do instead.

Kim Funk
8 min readAug 6, 2020
Self-care doesn’t need to be toxic. It can be as simple as petting your cat.
Photo by Yerlin Matu on Unsplash

Caring for myself is not self-indulgence. It is self-preservation and that is an act of political warfare. — Audre Lorde.

Self-care is hot these days. As we go about our daily lives, we’re pummeled with a barrage of advice on self-care be it fitness, nutrition, skin care, hobbies, or mental health. You’re simply not living if you’re not “self-caring.”

Self care is important.

It keeps us sane.

And healthy.

I participate in personal self-care rituals every single day. When I don’t, I’m crabby, impatient and unreasonable.

Even so, my journey hasn’t been perfect. I’ve travelled the road of depression and anxiety. And I know how terrifying those experiences are.

Along the way, I reached out for and received a lot of help. While I still don’t have everything figured out, I feel grounded enough, in my middle-age, to recognize the self-care that works for me.

As a reasonably healthy person, I’m always open to new ideas. But, lately, every time I read a self-help influencer’s post about how I could be a better person, my breath quickens, my hands shake, and everything I’ve ever worried about in my entire life enters my mind. Because these…

--

--

Kim Funk

A hockey mom who writes about hockey, writing, and life lessons with a dash of humor. Learn more at www.kjfunk.com.