The Marketing Design Stream: Preparing to go LIVE on LinkedIn

Kindra Ting
3 min readMar 22, 2024

--

I had this crazy idea of going live on LinkedIn.

I don’t see a lot of people doing livestreams on the platform except for company webinars. I considered Twitch/YouTube but I thought LinkedIn would be the best option for me to showcase my skills to decision-makers and potential clients.

Behind the idea

2023 was a big year for my freelance career. However, I made the biggest mistake. I got too comfortable. I got so used to my work routine that it got too easy. I stopped learning and ultimately, stopped marketing myself. It was hurting my freelance career as I can’t get new clients.

In my pursuit for a successful freelance business, I knew I needed to stand out.

This year, I want to change that. I want to put myself out there…again! I was thinking of ways to promote the business and share what I know. What better way to do that than to set myself as a design leader through LinkedIn Livestream. Hence, the birth of The Marketing Design Stream!

Setting up

Although I haven’t used LinkedIn Live before, I have experience live streaming through Facebook using the OBS software. So, set up was easy. I also had fun branding the stream!

Setting up OBS studio

What’s a livestream without purpose? I set up a Notion page dedicated for this project to think about topics I want to showcase. I could go on and on and on with all the topics I want to livestream but that would just be unreachable. In order for this project to succeed, I would need accountability and it needs to have a system.

Accountability

To be honest, I am very scared and about to chicken out right now. In order to avoid that, I’ve already told my friends and announced the livestream on LinkedIn! Only way to go is forward from here on.

https://rb.gy/2d586i

The System

I set up a dedicated Notion page for my LinkedIn growth. It’s where I brain dump all my ideas and organize my content calendar.

Notion page for the livestream

I felt like I was being impulsive by how fast things have been turning out but this Notion page has been helping me be on track of my goals and helps me feel less insane 🤭✌🏻

Livestream schedule

I am going live on March 28th and April 11th! See my design process as I build effective ads and landing pages

I deeply care about these topics as it has given my design skills purpose through marketing. I have also gotten more freedom with time and am able to travel to different parts of the world because I learned marketing design. I hope to see you on the live!

--

--