Animated Poster

McKindsay Dow
2 min readFeb 16, 2022

--

For this assignment we were required to make a tactile animated poster. We began by sketching out some story boards and then further developed one of the ideas from there. Here are some of my initial sketches:

I decided to go with the theme of vehicles polluting the planet through exhaust. I furthered this concept as shown below:

I liked the black-out concept more than the multi-color one. Since we weren’t allowed to digitally animate our poster, I adapted this concept to be a stop motion video with black sand and small toy cars. I also edited the typography to make that more of a focal point for this. Here is a still of the final typography for this poster:

Finally, here is the stop motion animation and finished poster. My process and resources included glitter cardstock, hot-wheels, black sparkly sand, and a poster sized paper for a backdrop. I centered the typography more on the physical copy to allow more room for the cars and to add a more dramatic effect with the blackout at the end.

Project Review:

Overall, this project took a very long time to complete. This was the first time I have done any sort of stop-motion animation, so there was a large learning curve here as well. I think I finally achieved something that closely follows the brief we were given, but this is definitely not my personal design style. I believe I could have produced a higher quality project had we been allowed to digitally animate our posters, which also would have been something closer to what I would want in my portfolio. My hopes going forward are that we will be allowed more creative freedom to explore our personal styles and develop work consistent with our own styles and portfolios.

--

--

McKindsay Dow

I am a current graduate student at CU Boulder working in the CMCI program.