The Inside Of My Mind

Adam James King
2 min readJun 2, 2015

--

The inside of my mind is like a dark, dense and mysterious jungle. It is full of dark places and demons and monsters and creatures and tangled, seemingly impenetrable pockets. There are also wonderful spots, clearings and beautiful trees and sunny, glowing weather.

My life is a constant pilgrimage through this jungle. Sometimes the path is clear and colourful, simple and enjoyable, with the sun smiling down on me. Other days, I wake up to find that I have fallen down a slippery slope and landed in a tangle of thick vines, sticks and branches, constricted and barely able to move or untangle myself, while black storm clouds suffocate the entire sky, raining cold reality down upon me.

Eventually, I manage to find a small gap where I can achieve some movement to start to untangle myself. The more movement I can do, the more momentum I can build and eventually I can break free and start to walk again.

Creatures will intermittently block my path, clawing at my pants and biting my ankles. I put in the effort required to kill these seemingly evil inconveniences and sometimes I find potent, colourful gifts in their corpses.

Often when I dissolve these setbacks, I become a bit stronger and more able to do the same thing again when required.

Sometimes I encounter large, vague, non-physical demons. They are bigger than me in size and appear as dense clouds of blackness without defined edges. They are mysterious and hard to see and hard to speak to.

They ask me to deconstruct them. Easier said than done. But if I don’t deconstruct them, they will follow me forever and ever, lingering behind me, always there, tainting the atmosphere even when I try to look away.

The deconstruction is painful and I never know how I did it or even that the deconstruction took place until I look back on it in retrospect.

When I manage to dissolve the demons completely, I receive all of their energy and they never return.

--

--

Adam James King

Introspective open-minded spiritual Sagittarius poetic warrior writer www.adamjamesking.com