Why I love my work

James Kingham
4 min readApr 28, 2019

--

Originally published on July 26, 2017 at www.linkedin.com.

I have been reflecting recently on the work that I get do on a daily basis at NYU Stern. I concluded that I should publicly share what makes my job so rewarding. Before you stop reading, let me reassure you: I am not writing this article to appeal to my colleagues at NYU who may read this and appreciate my sentiments. That would be nice, but my main purpose in writing this piece is to articulate (in the spirit of career coaching) a few of the key ways in which I feel that my job is a great match for my values and skills. My hope for all of the students who enter the Office of Career Development is that they will find a career that is similarly fulfilling.

As a director of career coaching, I am fortunate to have a job that allows me to:

1) Manage a great team. I don’t know what I did to deserve such an amazing team of professionals. It truly is a wondrous collection of souls. Every member of the career coaching team has an advanced degree, and in a variety of disciplines — from business to intercultural communication to applied psychology. They are all equally committed to the work of coaching, and they show up every day to serve the MBA students who have chosen to attend NYU Stern. The team has a great balance of personalities and strengths, which allows us to execute a diverse array of programs and initiatives each year in support of students. And let’s not forget the small army of 2nd-year student workers who grace the halls of the Office of Career Development each year. These graduate fellows and career mentors are some of the most talented students at NYU Stern, and we are fortunate to have them on our team — even if only for a handful of hours each week. Bottom line: being able to work in a team is hugely important to me, and my role allows me to do just that.

2) Feel like I am making a difference (however big or small) in students’ lives. Let’s be clear: the MBA students at Stern (or any top business school, for that matter) don’t need much help. They are all, without exception, brilliant. However, they frequently find themselves in need of support as they try to quadruple-fist a stressful cocktail of academic, extracurricular, professional, and personal commitments. To be able to step in and assist these students with their career search (e.g., resume, cover letter, mock interview, offer negotiation) fills me with a tremendous sense of purpose each day. Seeing our students succeed is incredibly rewarding, just as seeing them struggle is painful (as one of my colleagues put it soon after joining the team: “I am tired at the end of the day in a way that I never imagined before.”). We really do jump headlong into the emotional trenches with our students, but more often than not it is a lot of fun. It could be that I (or we) suffer from some false sense of nobility, but being able to help others has emerged as a key work value for me.

3) Capitalize on my strengths. My purpose in this last paragraph is not to boast, but rather to model a behavior that I often try to coax out of my students. That is, displaying self-awareness and confidence when it comes to your skills. Whether you are writing your resume/LinkedIn profile, interviewing for a position, or negotiating a job offer, you have to be able to articulate what your strengths are. Like anyone, I have areas for development, but I believe that my strengths include: A) communication skills (e.g., writing and public speaking); B) the ability to build relationships with others and win their trust; and C) a strong sense of loyalty to my colleagues and my institution. I have been at NYU Stern for 8+ years across two offices (MBA admissions and career development), but the constant themes have been the day-to-day demand for me to communicate, build relationships, and represent my team — and the school — with a full heart. Foundational to this is my belief that NYU Stern is an institution that is worthy of my devotion (and, hopefully, the devotion of students and alumni). Like any institution of higher education, NYU Stern is a dynamic and constantly evolving organization. But the spirit of the Stern community has remained the same. I value community immensely and I have never been disappointed by the diversity, intellectual vitality, and commitment of my colleagues across the school, including faculty, fellow administrators, and students.

If you are still reading, I hope some of this has resonated with you. What are your values and skills, and how do they align with your work? I would love to hear your thoughts and comments.

--

--

James Kingham

Exec Director, Undergrad Prof Dev & Careers @NYUStern; Ed.D. alum of @NYUSteinhardt; views/posts are my own.