Life is too short for my tall dreams

Lily fades, but not dreams…as told by Mark.

Kingsley Asuamah
3 min readJan 25, 2024
Image generated by the author using Image Creator by Designer

I remember the day I first saw her. She was standing at the edge of the cliff, her hair blowing in the wind. I was mesmerised by her beauty. I knew I had to talk to her.

We started talking, and I found out that her name was Lily. She was smart, funny, and kind. We quickly became friends, and a few weeks in, I knew that I was falling in love with her.

Many months later, we were sitting on the beach, watching the sunset. I turned to her and said, “Lily, I love you. I want to spend the rest of my life with you.”

She looked at me with tears in her eyes and said, “I love you too, but I have something to tell you. I have cancer. The doctors say I only have a few months left to live.”

I was devastated. I couldn’t believe that the person I loved was going to be taken away from me so soon. We spent the next few months making the most of the time we had left together. We went on adventures, travelled to new places, and made memories that would last a lifetime.

But as the days passed, Lily’s condition worsened. She was in constant pain, and I felt helpless. I wanted to do something, anything, to make her feel better, but there was nothing I could do.

--

--

Kingsley Asuamah

Simple guy with a twisted mind. Tech Enthusiast. Software Quality Evangelist (QA). Humour Monger. I have many interests but I write mostly on Technology & Life.