Tested to My Limits on an Adventure Travel Vacation in Belize

Kirsten Legner
4 min readNov 4, 2019

Middle age was pounding on the front door of my life, yet the intensity of parenting young children was easing up a bit. It was the perfect time for my friend Sarah and I to take a trip, but it had to be somewhere we’d never been, doing something we’d never forget. With some research, the perfect opportunity appeared: an adventure vacation in Belize! The website said a good attitude and average fitness were the only things needed to enjoy eight days of exploring, hiking and kayaking, including a few days on a private island.

Jungles of Belize

A moment was all I needed to consider my decision. My glass-half-full personality and size 14 jeans convinced me I was the perfect person for this experience. Without hesitation, I clicked ‘submit’ and committed to my first (and last) adventure travel vacation

Naïve enthusiasm brought Sarah and me to the jungles of Belize six months later. However, it was only halfway through day one when clues emerged that we were in over our heads.

Like slow, thick slugs, we dragged ourselves onto the kayaks.

“Ladies!” our guide shouted like a drill sergeant. “This morning we hiked through Mayan caves and now we will kayak ancient waterways. Pull yourself out of the water and onto those kayaks then the Mopan River…

--

--