My Life as a Chashmish Girl

Kirti Changlani
3 min readMar 13, 2021

--

Growing up as a girl who wore glasses, I had gotten used to to the fact that my name, for some people, had become synonymous to words like, "Chasmish"; "Double-battery" ; and "Chaar aankhon wali".

Those names sound frivolous today - but through my early years of making specs a part of my personality - it wasn't an easy ride!

In my primary school days, every time children next to me got into a fist-fight - my specs would drastically land on the floor!

And before I knew it, I had broken multiple pairs of glasses throughout my school life. Lol.

I used to be afraid to even handover my specs to anyone. As I knew, they’d try it on and end-up getting a headache or a reeling vision.

I mean, not my fault that ordinary people can't stand a 3X or 4X vision of the world.

We chashmish people are born visionary, optimistic right? 😎

Being bullied for those 'Nerdy' looks in school is another thing. But hey! As much as I remember, most chashmish girls transform into a glamorous diva by the time it is a school farewell, right?

And then, those same people who made fun of you can't resist your glow-up as you enter the school premises; this time, not being worried about glasses but makeup and saree. Am I right, girls?

And then, came a time when I had metamorphosed into a girl who was proud of having a striking dual personality - be it with or without specs.

It left me and people around me amazed.

My journey of happiness started when I removed those specs and saw myself in the mirror. I realized, I was the SAME PERSON!

I could go on from being the girl partying in high heels to a simple one appearing for board exams, the next day.

My glasses played a huge role in making me a person who was comfortable with herself!

Today, if someone would tease me, I would look back and smile to say, "KON CHASMISHhhh?"

Liked what you read?

Drop your thoughts in the comments and share it with your friends 🤗

Thank you for reading!

--

--

Kirti Changlani

🇮🇳 Author of Three Books | Blogs are my observations, lessons and reflections on Life ❤ Instagram: @kirtichanglani ✨