The Beginners Mind (Shoshin)

In the beginner’s mind there are many possibilities, but in the expert’s mind there are few. ”

Kishore Blog
2 min readAug 13, 2021

Shoshin (初心) is a word from Zen Buddhism meaning “beginner’s mind.” It refers to having an attitude of openness, eagerness, and lack of preconceptions when studying a subject, even when studying at an advanced level, just as a beginner would.

I have started reading the book Zen Mind, Beginner’s Mind by Shunryu Suzuki. In the first chapter, he talked about Zazen (seated meditation).

I started to do Zazen in the morning. I sat in the lotus position for around five minutes. It was not that easy to do. I will practice it every day. Like how Suzuki said, when I sat in the correct posture, my mind started settling.

When you bow, you should just bow; when you sit, you should just sit; when you eat, you should just eat.

The hardest thing for me to do is; to only eat when I eat. I couldn’t eat without distracting myself by watching television or reading books.

Today when I am having lunch, I will practice beginner’s mind. I will only eat while eating. I will observe what I eat. I will wonder how the food is grown and its made.

I will start practicing the beginner’s mind in everything I do.

--

--