The Centr of Controversy

I really didn’t like Avengers Endgame

Kivan Bay
10 min readMay 1, 2019
The post for Avengers Endgame (2019), look it’s all ur faves

I spoil a lot of stuff in here, but I didn’t like it, so if spoilers ruin your enjoyment of it I think that’s good actually.

I had a feeling I wasn’t going to like Avengers Endgame but I thought I’d just let it slide. See, the thing is, I didn’t even want to have this conversation. Nobody likes to get yelled at by angry fans for having a differing opinion, and who wants the hassle of going to a movie they don’t even really want to see? But see then I heard about the fat suit. Allow me to save you some time if you’d prefer to not read this: I didn’t like it.

I wouldn’t say I hate the MCU because I like plenty of their movies and TV shows but I would say that some of my critique often falls into the subjective. I had, of course, minor nitpicks like “what does the gay guy going on this second date do now that his husband is undusted” or the mixed time travel mechanics. What about the people who moved on? Are we going to get a tearful Castaway “I’m sorry but I remarried” scene? Has half of Peter’s class already graduated?

Additionally, the final battle lacked tension for me, both because I am not very interested in MCU action scenes which tend to put me in mind of watching someone else play a videogame but also because Endgame had made their final villain a past…

--

--

Kivan Bay

No one of consequence. Brave compared to some. Writes stuff on twitter. A guy now.