Social Penetration Theory

Kiyon Robinson
2 min readDec 3, 2021

--

Summary

The Social Penetration Theory is a stab at trying to figure out relational closesness between two individuals. Also explains how two people content and communication would become more intimate and less petty through time. This theory is an Onion and their personal info are the layers that would make up their personality.

Personal Experiences

My personal experiences with the social penetration theory has be with with my coaches. When I first the Defensive Coordinator the name is unknown when first arrived at MSSU in 2020 I would see this guy I would always wonder why wouldn’t he speak to me as the head of the defense. Another thing i would think is that I am one of you most talented players but you won’t talk to me. We had our first conversation like 4 months ago it was trivial and relativly basic. But as time went on an season went on and he saw that I was hard worker he start to show a little feeling toward me. We started to talk more he showed some faith an me and showed me he wants to be great. Now he been texting me making sure I am doing what need to do in school an making sure life is good at home.

Lesson Learned

what I have learned from the Social Penetration Theory is that only way to get deeper and to understand someone is thought time and knowledge of that person. As time go one you learn to understand that person you will know the due’s don’t of that person.

Citation

Social Penetration Theory. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://courses.lumenlearning.com/interpersonalcommunicationxmaster/chapter/social-penetration-theory/.

research gate. (2013). Retrieved from https://www.researchgate.net/figure/Relationships-layers-according-to-Social-Penetration-Theory-2_fig2_261271664.

--

--