Top 5 Most Powerful #MeToo Tweets

Kathryn McHutchison
3 min readMay 3, 2018

--

In October 2017, the hashtag #MeToo went viral. The hashtag was created 2006 to encourage women to empower each other, however by 2017 it held a different meaning.

Tweets, Facebook posts, and Instagram could be seen everywhere the with words me too. It was a stand against sexual assault. The hashtag can use the incredible power of revealing how prevalent sexual assault was all around the world. It was eye-opening.

The media took to the hashtag, and stories of women, both famous and unknown were flooding the media.

The film and TV industry was hit the hardest with women coming forward and sharing stories of experiences they had in the industry as children and adults. Directors, actors, news anchors, producers, and politicians were all put in the spotlight for their actions against women. Many were fired from their jobs.

Here are 5 of the most incredible and brave #MeToo tweets:

  1. LaneMoore @hellolanemoore

With her optimistic outlook, it gives us a little hope for the world. Maybe one day we will all be crying me too for a better, happier reason.

2. QuinnCummings @quinncy

She set the record straight. Leaving nothing to question that sexual assault is never the fault of the victim. For so long sexual assault has put the spotlight on the victim. Quinn turned the tables.

3. Jessica Wade @Jeswade6

The stories that came from the hashtags left people shocked. Jessica’s tweet shared over ten years of sexual assault, which is a reality for so many of the people in the movement.

4. Kristin Dugas @boho_travel

One of the most significant discoveries of the Me Too movement was how many people were experience assault in their place of work. Kristin’s story was similar to so many.

5. @Canna Witch @tender_buds

The tweets describing sexual assault in the workplace ranged from people first jobs to Hollywood celebrities that flooded the newsstands.

I can remember when I decided to post the words #MeToo on my own personal Facebook page. The simple hashtag was typed in my status box for 30+ minutes before I posted it. I didn’t share my story, and I barely posted the hashtag at all.

When I got the courage too, I joined a community of men and women who have been affected by sexual assault all over the world. At that moment I told the world that I had been affected. I was one of the millions of women who became a part of this movement.

--

--