You Can Still Thrive as an Adult Despite a Difficult Childhood

Krista Mollion
The Sassy Chronicles
5 min readJul 8, 2020

--

My Story Plus My Survival Strategies for You

How do you grow up to be a well-adjusted, happy adult after experiencing adversity in childhood? I’d like to share my own method and workaround to survive and thrive.

Being raised as an only child by my maternal grandparents with a mom who was ‘hot/cold’ and a dad who I only saw once per year was not easy at all. In fact, for most of my childhood, I felt displaced, despite my grandparents being very loving. By my teens, I was moving from place to place and never felt I belonged anywhere. Despite this rough start, I managed to find purpose and develop into a relatively mentally healthy adult. I credit it entirely to mindset.

1/ Separate Your Emotions from Your Core Being. I felt like crap but I had to identify those were only feelings that could change any time, not who I really was. This helped me tremendously, especially during the toughest times.

2/ Decide to Forgive and Love Yourself. Just because you went through a crappy childhood doesn’t make you a bad person. This step is the key to everything, simply everything.

3/ Forgive All the Adults Who Let You Down. Oh, how hard this is! The people who caused me grief as well as the people who were supposed to care…

--

--

Krista Mollion
The Sassy Chronicles

Ex-Agency Owner For Top Iconic Brands Turned Fractional CMO + Educator for Small Business Owners and Creators To Go From Semi-Invisible To Un-Ignorable