Westie DJ Quick Tip: Episode 2: Live Streaming

Koichi Tsunoda
2 min readMar 29, 2020

--

So, you want to live stream a set? You’re wondering how can you do that easily? Well, you’ve come to the right place! I’ll explain what I do now, then talk about other things I’ve tried along with the pros and the cons. 🥳

My Current Process

Tools

Steps

  1. Have VirtualDJ and your Twitch account ready!
  2. Follow these instructions!
  3. Go to Twitch Stream Manager to see stats and to chat!
  4. Optionally, go to your live stream (@ http://twitch.tv/[your user name]) to verify your live stream is working!

Gotchas

  • Make sure your stream URL is something like rtmp://live-dfw.twitch.tv/app/!
  • Make sure your stream key is properly copied and pasted!
  • Hopefully your upload bandwidth is big enough to handle the best quality which has the audio quality at 128kbps. If your bandwidth cannot handle it, I’d consider using Shoutcast (audio-only) live streaming. Instructions here! 😈

What if I don’t use VirtualDJ?

Well…you’re SOL. J/k. You have a few choices:

  1. Learn how to use VirtualDJ! 😂 Or, …
  2. Wait for my next article that’ll talk about how to use whatever app you want to livestream your set! I’ll probably do it in another day/week/year or so! 🤣

Other Options

Periscope: https://www.pscp.tv/

Periscope seems to work well too! The main reason why I use Twitch over Periscope is because I’m able to use tools like MultiTwitch to “co-DJ” together. Victor and I did a set together and it worked out well!

Shoutcast: https://www.shoutcast.com/

Shoutcast is a way to stream audio (sans video), and it works well. I’ve done it once to stream directly from Century Ballroom for fun! I don’t do this right now though because I either have to pay to use a managed Shoutcast service or manage an Icecast (a Shoutcast implementation I think?) server myself.

That said, since Shoutcast is only streaming audio, it requires much less bandwidth. So if your upload bandwidth can’t handle what I suggest above, consider using Shoutcast!

Failed Options

Facebook

Their copyright tool got triggered and the stream got blocked/disabled maybe about 30 min into testing it out.

YouTube

Their copyright tool got triggered about an hour into the second time I streamed via YouTube. The stream didn’t get blocked/disabled during the second set, but clearly it knows what you’re up to.

But…but…I want to see other people

I’ll write about how to use a conference app (like Zoom) to live stream *and* see other people you’re streaming to. 😮 But for now, the above is the easiest way to get started with live streaming your set!

Feel free to ping me on Facebook if you have any issues!

--

--