Life doesn’t happen to you, it happens for you. ~ Jim Carrey

Ko Shin Minn
3 min readMay 17, 2018

--

Life doesn’t happen to you, it happens for you.

Now fear, it’s going to be a player in your life. But you get to decide how much you can spend your life imagining ghosts, worrying about the pathway to the future, but all there will ever be is what’s happening here and the decision we make in this moment which are based in either love or fear. So many of us choose our path out of fear disguised as practicality. What we really want seems impossibly out of reach and ridiculous to expect so we never dare to ask the universe for it. I’m saying, I’m the proof that you can ask the universe for it.

My father could’ve been a great comedian but he didn’t believe that was possible for him so he made a conservative choice instead he got a safe job as an accountant and when I was 12 years old, he was let go from that safe job and our family had to do whatever we could to survive. I learned many great lessons from my father not the least of which was that you can fail at what you don’t want so you might as well take a chance on doing what you love.

I can tell you from experience the effect you have on others is the most valuable currency there is. How will you serve the world? What do they need? That your talent can provide, that’s all you have to figure out. Everything you gain in life will rot and fall apart and all that will be left of you is what was in your heart. That peace that we’re after lies somewhere beyond personality, beyond the perception of others, beyond invention and disguise, even beyond effort itself.

You can join the game, fight the wars, play with form all you want but to find real peace, you have to let the armor go. You need for acceptance can make you invisible in this world. Risk being seen in all of your glory.

I often said that I wish people could realize all their dreams and wealth and fame, so that they could see that it’s not where you’re gonna find your sense of completion and when I say “Life doesn’t happen to you, it’s happens for you.” I really don’t know if that’s true. I’m just making a conscious choice to perceive challenges as something beneficial so that I can deal with them in the most productive way. So, why not take a chance on faith as well?

Not religion, but faith, not hope, but faith, I don’t believe in hope. Hope is the bagger, Hope walks through the forehand faith leaps over it. You are ready and able to do beautiful things in this world. And after you walk through those doors today, you will only ever have two choices, LOVE or FEAR. Choose LOVE and don’t ever let fear turn you against your playful heart.

~Jim Carrey

--

--