Photo by Sean Lim on Unsplash

5 Productivity Hacks That I Wish I Knew Sooner

Kosmas Story

--

Click here to get access to the story :)

It has been 1 year since I started optimizing my productivity because I have wanted to work better with less time as summarised by the quote: “Work better not harder”.

Be careful to read till the end because true advice is given here

And since then I have encountered 5 essential hacks that boosted my productivity :

1. The Pomodoro technique

Photo by Marcelo Leal on Unsplash

It consists of five steps :

  1. Select a single task to focus on.

2. Set a timer for 25–30 min. and work continuously until the timer goes off.

3. Take a productive 5 min. Break around, get a snack, relax.

4. Repeat steps 2 & 3 for 4 rounds.

5. Take a longer (20–30 min.) break.

This technique has helped me stop procrastinating and deliver high-quality work with efficient time management.

There are several apps for computers and smartphones which include the Pomodoro clock such as Focus to-do.

2. The “Forest app”

The forest app is the number one productivity app on smartphones.

You can choose how much time you will be working on your task and the app will automatically set a tree that will be planted in your garden If your timer has come to an end.

Not to forget that the tree will be dried out and planted If you stop the timer before it ends.

This app has helped me focus on my work as well as deliver it in no time.

3. The Black and white mode on the phone

We all know that screens especially our phones are a big distraction to our productivity and that is why, by activating the black and white mode from your settings, your apps won’t be shiny and colourful anymore which could help you stay less on your smartphone.

It is a trick that I suggest to most people whenever they have an issue in dealing with their phone addiction.

4. The 2 minutes rule

This one is very simple: If a task takes less than two minutes to accomplish, then just do it and you would not have to think about it anymore.

This will help you diminish the stress you have with the annoying tasks like taking the rubbish out which will clear your mind and make it ready and efficient for work.

I have discovered this technique recently and since I have tried it, it has helped me do all the little but important tasks in no time.

5. Stop listening to music when working

This is a mistake I have personally made many times.

By listening to music, your brain needs to deal with other sources of information and so will be less efficient in delivering the work and concentration needed.

I suggest for people who really can’t focus without music, to listen to ones without lyrics just the melody, so the lyrics won’t impact their thinking.

I’d sometimes listen to some classical music when working but scarcely.

I am excited to publish my real first story (I published an about me article that you can check out)

Congratulations ! You have read this article to the end. I’d love to hear your feedback as I am new to Medium.

Don’t hesitate to follow me as stories are to come and leave some claps!

--

--

Kosmas Story

" The only true wisdom is knowing that you know nothing " Socrates I am interested in personnal develoment as well as everything that can improve our lives.