Sapporo Draft Beer Black Label 【Sapporo Beer Co.】

Kotaro - Love Japanese beer.
3 min readNov 4, 2023

--

Hi, I’m Kotaro, a beer lover.

In my blog, I introduce beers from major Japanese beer companies.

In this memorable first article, I would like to introduce one of the main brands of Sapporo Beer Co.

<Sapporo Beer Official Website>
https://www.sapporobeer.jp/product/beer/kurolabel/

What is Sapporo Draft Beer Black Label ?

"Don’t be round. Be a star.”
The label features an eye-catching large star and black circle, just like the catchphrase “Don’t be a star.

Whether you are a beer lover or not, I am sure you have seen it at supermarket counters in Japan.

Review of Sapporo Draft Beer Black Label

Let us review Sapporo Draft Beer Black Label by actually drinking it.

・Fairly bright golden color.
・Bubbles and bubbles are weak.
・Carbonation is moderate and not strongly refreshing.
・Aroma is moderately citrusy.
・Sour and bitter taste, similar to kumquat or grapefruit.
・Citrus peel bitterness remains on the finish.

Rather than malty, Hoppy is more of a pilsner.
I thought this beer is simple and never gets boring, as it is Sapporo’s main brand.

【Rating】(☆1–5)
Strength of flavor :☆☆
Refreshing :☆☆☆
Aroma :☆☆
Overall :☆☆☆

The price I found on Amazon.com in Japan on the day I wrote the article was 4,391 yen for a package of 24 bottles.
(183 yen per bottle)
https://www.amazon.co.jp/dp/B001TRIKRS?ref_=cm_sw_r_cp_ud_dp_850ME83CB7KSJ8V914EH

Salty Snacks for Food Pairings

On this day, we prepared fried squid snacks to pair with the dish.

It may be obvious, but these salty snacks go great with Pilsner.
Perhaps it was the saltiness, but I felt it was sweeter than drinking Sapporo Draft Beer Black Label by itself!

After all, beer and snacks are a simple and strongest pairing :D

--

--

Kotaro - Love Japanese beer.
0 Followers

I am a Japanese who loves beer. Here I am writing an article introducing Japanese beer. I hope many people overseas will know the goodness of Japanese beer:)