kowei.iota
3 min readJun 15, 2023

【Public Statement】IOTA Asia Ecosystem Lead

My passion and research for IOTA have remained unchanged since 2017. My sole goal after completing my doctoral degree was to find a way to support IOTA full time. Joining Tangle Ecosystem Association and supporting the IOTA Foundation, to me, is a deeply moving experience akin to a religious calling. For the great project of IOTA, rooted in Europe with its ancient history, I see my role and mission, bringing IOTA’s high standards of rigorous research and exquisite design to the Asian community and the rest of the world.

Job Responsibilities and Potential Conflict of Interest

Currently, I have signed a part-time, short-term contract with the Tangle Ecosystem Association (TEA) to support the IOTA team. The role is split between tasks with both TEA and the Growth Committee and will be focused on developing a go to market strategy for Asia and onboarding new partners and projects (you can find more details below).

During this part-time phase, I plan to continue to hold my position as a salaried part-time committee member at the Treasury DAO. I have already communicated this arrangement with both the Foundation and Treasury DAO, and I ask for your understanding. This is by no means an attempt to hold onto my part-time committee position. If this temporary arrangement comes to an end and I secure a full-time contract with TEA, I will resign from Treasury DAO. After all, Treasury DAO is a committee based on community governance, and full-time Foundation members may have conflicting interests. If, however, the community is uncomfortable with my current part-time arrangement, I will resign from the Treasury DAO.

TEA Responsibilities: Asia Ecosystem Developer

Community Manager (CM)

Maintaining the active Chinese-speaking IOTA community, translating English articles and official updates, hosting AMAs and Twitter Spaces for ecosystem projects, and ensuring the continuous growth of this sapling until it becomes a towering tree once again (I will never forget the glory of IOTA in the Chinese world in 2017/2018).

Business Development (BD)

Collaborating with the Touchpoint team to onboard development teams into the IOTA/Shimmer ecosystem, collaborating with other projects (such as wallets, infrastructure, exchanges, etc.), and introducing investors to ecosystem projects. Specifically, I will focus on the developer community in Taiwan and the investor community in Singapore.

Relationship Management (RM)

Engaging with governments, universities, and accelerators in Asia on behalf of IOTA and our community. The most likely approach would be to provide speeches and builder awareness (leveraging my connections as an NUS alumnus and a KOL in the Taiwanese cryptocurrency community to generate visibility for IOTA in Singapore and Taiwan).

Growth Committee Responsibilities: Asia Market Strategy

By reading VC reports, exchange reports, and various research reports, I will consolidate an overview of the Asian market (such as Northeast Asia, East Asia, Southeast Asia) and the differences among countries (a highly heterogeneous and fragmented market). I will also compare IOTA/Shimmer with other public chains in terms of market entry strategies. Additionally, I will study ecosystem development trends (with a particular focus on ShimmerEVM) and provide specific strategies and recommendations for which markets we could enter and how.

This is a very exciting time for IOTA as we look to expand our reach outside of the EU and I am excited to play a role in bringing our technology to the Asian market and reminding them of our vision.

kowei.iota

IOTA Asia Ecosystem Lead, PhD in physics, Technology Singularity, Libertarian https://bit.ly/m/kowei