Frustrated

Angel Reynos
2 min readNov 4, 2023

--

Photo by Davis Patton on Unsplash

You are everyone’s except mine, and that irritates me every day, knowing that others touch you, and I can’t even graze your shadow.

You’re always with thousands of commoners, where you invest your time, while mine is slowly dying with the unretrieved clock. I, like a stubborn warrior, fight for a kiss from your lips, while you freely give your treasure to others without the effort I invest.

I don’t see that moment when you are frozen in my arms because you are always floating among the fortunate ones.

Envy consumes me, and I almost want to burst with anger, watching the seconds pass far from your life, while you remain available in the shadows and doorways of your lovers’ girlfriends, only to be left alone when consumed by those shadows that retreat to be with their grateful partners, as they take the diamonds from you, just as attackers do.

In your days of melancholy, tears, fears, and suffering, you lock yourself away… but I am there without complaint, rescuing you from those imperfections. It’s then that you look and realize how distracted you are. Then you withdraw because you feel confused. I decided to forget, to enclose you within yourself, to start over… never with me, but with yourself. You choose others on your journey, while I remain on the side, watching as you reject every suitor.

I offer you my heart with love, but you completely ignore me, then accept the scraps of your time from others. Sometimes I regret loving you so passionately. I swear I’m going to find a doctor to remove my heart.

Not even the distant moon frustrates me as much because no matter how hard I try to make you fall in love, I realize that I have failed.

--

--