Remembering Mac Miller

The Travelling Melomaniac
3 min readSep 13, 2021

--

With the start of Football season on Sunday, the City of Pittsburgh was feeling electric, but rap fans, like myself, couldn’t help but feel a tinge of sadness going into this past week.

This past Tuesday, September 7, marked the 3rd anniversary of Mac Miller’s death. Miller was from the Pittsburgh area and has many songs that boast what life is like in the area from which he grew up.

He references Frick Park in his debut album titled “Blue Slide Park.” In that album, he titled songs after well-known Pittsburgh areas. “Frick Park Market,” “Party On 5th Ave.” and “PA Nights” are about things that Pittsburghers know of, or have memories associated with; to many of his fans in Western Pennsylvania, this album felt like a gift to those of us who bleed black and gold.

After Miller’s death in 2018, many petitioned to get the Pittsburgh Penguins to change their goal celebration song to “Party On 5th Ave.,” but the goal song had already been established for the year. Though it’s unfortunate that the song couldn’t have been changed, the mere request showed the love that so many felt for the artist and his music.

While I often blasted the hit single “Party On 5th Ave.” or sang along to Ariana Grande’s “The Way (feat. Mac Miller),” I wasn’t a big Mac Miller fan until he released his fifth album, “Swimming.”

Swimming Album Cover- https://shop.macmillerswebsite.com/products/swimming-vinyl

“Swimming” is an easy listening album that’s great to listen to while studying, and that’s when I listen to it most. Because of this album, I was introduced to the musical world of Mac Miller, and I was able to find older songs from past albums that I loved.

“Dang! (feat. Anderson .Paak),” “Stay” and “My Favorite Part,” all from “The Devine Feminine,” were just three songs I found that I genuinely enjoyed and had never heard before. I have “Swimming” to thank for my love for Miller’s music, and I’m so grateful that he had the opportunity to record and produce the album before he passed.

The Devine Feminine album cover- https://www.iheart.com/content/2016-10-03-interview-mac-miller-talks-new-album-the-divine-feminine/

Though many mourn Mac Miller’s death on the seventh, others celebrate his life either on the day or leading up to it. Every year, people gather at the blue slide at the playground in Frick Park to celebrate the late artist’s life.

While I haven’t been able to visit the park on the day to celebrate with fellow fans, I was able to visit the album’s namesake the day before the celebration last year

The blue slide at Frick Park, Pittsburgh

My friend and I slid down the blue slide in the park and played Mac Miller’s songs on the whole drive to and from Pittsburgh. I’m so glad we were able to visit this place because I felt so connected with the city and it felt so special to experience something that meant so much to one of my favorite artists.

Mac Miller is a part of Pittsburgh that I’ll never forget, and I hope that we continue to celebrate his accomplishments during his time on Earth.

What’s your favorite Mac Miller song or album? Would you ever want to visit Frick Park or go to the annual celebration?

--

--

The Travelling Melomaniac

For me, sweeping melodies and cascading landscapes are equally relaxing. Follow along as I journey to distant and not-so-distant lands to enjoy both!