BE MY TECH

Kate Pljaskovova
4 min readSep 1, 2015

CO-FOUNDER

I promise it'll be the best thing you've ever done in your life. It'll also be the hardest one. But you'll still love it!

This might be a little bit surprising — my code sucks! But I'm not a developer, so I don't really care. I care about finding one. But not just a regular one. I'm looking for a partner. For somebody who will be in love with the same idea. Who will work 15 hours a day next to me. Who loves learning. And who's ready to fail thousand times and will still believe in the victory.

How CEOs find their tech co-founders?

I did my homework. I talked to 25 CEOs about how they found their tech co-founders. Apparently about 50% states for previous friendships and other 50% goes to serendipity.

So as most of my friends still code in Java (no comment please:)) or are already tech founders in their own companies, I need to go for the serendipity. So here I am on medium.

CEO's advice: talk to as many people as possible and when you reach the critical mass you will find him/her.

About me

I've been always in tech. Now for 8 years. I love how technology can help humans to fulfill their potential and make the world a better place. Not just for humans. Maybe also for aliens. Of course after we invent Enterprise. Yep, I love Star Trek. We can watch the next movie together, deal?

I'm a big believer. I believe in people. I just do. I will believe in you too, promise.

I'm always in a good mood. It makes me drive and sometimes drives other people crazy. I need a hug sometime. Fortunately for you I have a boyfriend to take care of this duty.

I love to work. I work on the weekends too. My favorite relaxing activity -cooking. Lucky you, you will be fed well. Tell it to your mom.

To answer your question: Yes, I will give you a significant ownership of the company we will be building together. And yes, it won't be for free. You will need to work your ass off.

About the idea

It's quite simple. I had a burn out. Startups are hard. We know that, but this was bad. For the 1st time in my life I wasn't excited about my work, about my relationships and I was confused. Full story here.

I was always a self-improver. Ask me when was the last time I read a different book than about how to be better at X & Y. So this was disturbing. I started to learn more about how you can prevent this kind of stuff. I stumbled on positive psychology. Digged into neuroscience, especially priming. I started learning about well-being in general.

I also tried to find a sufficient tool other than books and blogs to support me. I found quite a lot of apps, but most of them where all rainbows & unicorns. And I don't do rainbows and unicorns. Next to that these apps were useless.

We can do much better than that!

This got me thinking. I should build something. I started asking people around me what wellbeing means to them and what they do to improve it. Then I did a structured research with almost 100 hardcore self-improvers. Most of them also within quantified-self movement.

I've discovered many interesting things. Teaser before I write a blog post about it: most hardcore self-improvers are men (like +90%), our wellbeing is extremely tied to habits/routines and physical exercise matters a lot!

UPDATE (1/3/2016): As time went by, we got awesome designs by Majo Moravcik, a lot of user signups and now we’re have half way in with Liwely beta. See the website: http://liwely.com/

Liwely sneak peek (http://liwely.com/)

Now I need you — my partner to continue building Liwely with me. Hurry up!

Drop me a line if you're interested: kate@liwely.com

--

--

Kate Pljaskovova

Love solving big problems at scale — now building FairHQ.co helping companies manage & improve the #diversity and #inclusion. @kpljaskovova