I Beat Nicotine, but I Can’t Beat My Phone

Chris Burcher
3 min readDec 29, 2021

And the phone might be worse. . . .

Photo by Jonathan Gonzalez on Unsplash

Are you addicted to anything? How about your phone?

I’m infuriated right now. And you should be, too.

I have finally kicked nicotine (again, for like the 100th time — but this time it’s for real) only to find myself having the same problem. With my damned phone!

Sure, I know, first world problems. Snowflake whiner. It’s all good. I don’t have a problem with that.

But I do have a problem with my attention. My personal power. Or lack thereof.

I started smoking in my teens. Up to a pack a day by 18. I quit a few times but always went back. Tried the patch. After a decade I discovered spit tobacco and, boy howdy, I was in love.

Nicotine has been part of my life for 30+ years. I am an addict. I can’t play around. I can NEVER have nicotine again, or I’ll go right back to being addicted.

But I’m almost 50. It’s time to give it up. It’s been 9 months or so and I’m doing ok. I had been chewing only nicotine gum (albeit, like, 20 pieces a day) for a year or so — so it was somewhat easier.

I have fewer and fewer cravings. It’s only about once a month now where I am tempted to start again. But I don’t. I won’t.

HOWEVER.

I now find that I have basically the same relationship with my phone as I did with nicotine.

There’s still some invisible FORCE.

Some URGE.

Some DISCONTENT.

Some RESTLESSNESS.

I feel it deep in my marrow.

There’s a CRAVING.

A NEED.

I guess it’s for Dopamine. Maybe it always was.

And for whatever reason, I believe that picking up my phone is going to give me what I need.

And sometimes it does.

But mostly it doesn’t.

Mostly it makes me want more.

Which reminds me of something. . . . . . .

So, the question remains.

Is my phone, like nicotine, a real addiction that I can’t ‘sip’. That I have to break completely 100%?

I have tried the ‘self-mastery’ approach.

I shut off all the notifications.

I black-and-whited the screen.

I deleted most apps.

I listed facebook and email as restricted in my web browser.

Seriously. My phone doesn’t even DO anything fun.

But I still pick it up.

If that isn’t addiction, I don’t know what is.

What say you, wise reader?

Am I to get rid of the smart phone?

I have four kids, aging parents, a wife. I probably need to be reachable and beepers are fine but are there even pay phones?

In other words, what are my options?

Self-mastery over my phone? Possible?

For other musings please visit Knowledge + Experience = Wisdom for thoughtful blogs, podcasts, and YouTube videos.

--

--

Chris Burcher

Thinking outside the box. Embracing your weirdness. Making different great again. https://youtu.be/mSize-CAd5o