“Struggle Mindset” and The Capacity to Let Go

kp
4 min readDec 5, 2022

--

The “struggle mindset” is one I like to define as a means of constantly operating in a state of lack, fear, and limitations. One who adopts the perspective tends to think there is a direct correlation between an unrealistic hustle and achieving success.

During the pandemic an internal shift occurred. There became an immediate urge to pursue passions, intentionally. The top of 2022 was the first time in my working history where I didn’t have anything mapped out career-wise. This provided a chance to explore and eventually I found myself in very short, yet fulfilling opportunities.

The mind shift from working for a check to working for enjoyment wasn’t easy. The first experience started with school. While caring deeply about higher learning, for personal reasons the journey has been rocky. Throughout 2020 I remained attached to the idea of a degree, despite understanding that I didn’t necessarily need it to pursue a new found purpose; writing and visual storytelling. It wasn’t until the following spring when I walked away from one opportunity while simultaneously getting my first in the film/television industry, that I realized eventually you have to start betting on yourself; this usually requires doing work that goes against the grain.

Fast forward two years and multiple roles later, and I feel like I’m just getting started. The trajectory of my career this year was quite reflective of the Gen Z and Millennial mindset when it comes to job opportunities; get the most out of professional experiences and grow as you go. Some, and by some I mean elder generations, might believe this is an approach that lacks discipline and consistency. Two key traits that lead to success. Personally, it was quite the opposite. It was the most effective and least time—consuming route to quickly learn what I genuinely enjoy while leveraging personal strengths to make a living.

My presence grazed various industries this year. All of which include: non-profit, hospitality/service, data integrity, studio television production, and freelance creative services which ranged from writing to video editing and photography. Distinct from one another, each experience offered personal lessons that will keep me motivated while I navigate my dreams.

In regards to all opportunities, you should leave spaces gracefully. On the road to becoming you’ll quickly realize how life often comes full circle. This is especially true if you find yourself becoming in the same place that made you. You never know who you may need or cross paths with in the future. When I realized something was no longer aligned or brought me joy, I parted ways and wished parties the best in the process. One thing will always ring true. People may forget what you did but won’t forget how you made them feel. No matter how you view experiences, make sure you’re at peace when it’s time to part ways. Success isn’t bred with a bitter heart.

Don’t be a bystander to your life. Current circumstances don’t determine the final destination. While we can’t change what is, we can consciously make efforts to explore, refine, and consistently pursue our life’s purpose. In my experience, this often looks like making space. Making space to try without a fear of failing. Seeing things through. Saying yes to opportunities that are aligned whatever you envision your higher self to be.

Create a blueprint. Paths to becoming are rarely clear and consistent. A blueprint will not only keep you motivated in times of worry, but it will also serve as a reminder of the bigger picture when it comes to aspirations and goals. Life often comes with doing things we don’t always want to do in order to get to where we want to be. Let the blueprint be your compass. Mine looks like quarterly and yearly goals. A gratitude journal where I list things I’m grateful for along with the things I desire. A small but potent vision board. The blueprint is personal.

The gist of it all is to simply work smart not hard. That’s the best way to relieve yourself of outdated beliefs, while welcoming new beginnings and change. You know what they say: “Proper preparation beats poor performance.” The narrative remains true when it comes to your life and happiness. Take initiative, be patient, and slowly reap the fruits of your labor.

--

--

kp
0 Followers

writing about life and everything in between.