Scientism or Mysticism?

Khushi Rastogi
3 min readSep 15, 2022

--

Yesterday I had a conversation with one of my friends. He believes in scientism and I believe in mysticism. So, we started discussing our beliefs, as I said I am an mysticist that conversation turned into arguments. He was putting his point and I was putting mine. One thing that was common in this conversation was that none of us have any proof to prove our point.

In this world there are so many things that can be explained through science but also few things can only be explained through mythology. I am so much into spirituality that I believe so many things in this universe can be explained through both science and spiritual psychology.

When I was a kid, I was into God and other spiritual things. At some point I realized that there is no proof for everything. A few things just happen, you don’t need a proper explanation for that or any theory to prove it. Till today there are so many incidents that made me believe in these things. I love reading novels, this lockdown due to covid i came across Bhagwat Gita I decided to read one chapter daily and i got to learn so many things few things that are easily relatable to our lives and so many things are explained related to human life and death.

I have read so many novels related to our brain and human nature that make me question every time that this thing really exists? These novels define the human mind and on the other side few people claim that they can predict the future, dreams convey messages related to our upcoming days or they can see God or can talk to them about all those miracles and destiny. What is it? What should I believe in?

I personally believe that if there is God then the bad energies like spirits and evils do exist like if there are good people there are bad people too. On the other hand, if I take those who don’t believe in God they also don’t believe in bad energies. It can be said that it all depends on what you consider. For the people who trust that there is God they have to believe in spirits too and if someone is out of this range for them it’s all nothing just a talk. There are so many other beliefs in every religion, but it all depends on you what you think of it or are you into this thing or not. According to me it’s a cycle, different kinds of people exist with different beliefs and trust and that’s how you chose to live, live with that thing that can be changed in future maybe.

So, this argument made me realize that this world can’t be run with the same people with the same ethics and believe there has to be every kind of person to make this world work, to run that cycle that can’t be run with only the same people.

I want to know your thoughts on this topic. Let me know if you have any.

--

--