Views Into Reads!

Kremena Kirilova
4 min readJul 20, 2024

--

When legends are true.

Created by the author on Midjourney

It is my 5th day on Medium, and I am still wondering how to gain an income with my writing on the platform.

I have been writing since I was a child.

Writing is my passion, but honestly, I have never had the chance to make money from it. No one believed I would be able to either.

There is a saying in my country:

Writers don’t feed their homes!

I accepted the idea that this talent of mine is a hobby. Hobbies are beneficial for our physical and mental state.

When we are in a state of flow, absorbed by the activity we enjoy (writing, drawing, crafting, singing, playing, etc.), we increase our well-being.

This is great, isn’t it?

On the other hand, most of the time, our hobbies do not help our financial situation. Nowadays, the world requires money for food, a roof above our heads, and gas for the car.

I decided that writing would be my hobby and proceeded to psychology and teaching as a career.

Writing, psychology, and education complement each other, but not all of them make money or, if they do, you will not be a millionaire.

The important thing is that I chose to like what I do, despite of the possibility of never being rich.

Doing what we like increases our self-esteem tremendously, life satisfaction, mental and physical health, and overall wellbeing.

Isn’t that more important than money?

The idea to compose this piece came from an article by Fildy Bejaoui “How Much You Can Earn On Medium Per 1000 Views”.

I strongly recommend reading it, friends.

The way the system is structured, it seems, is that the less a paying user reads stories, the more of their subscription money goes to the few authors whose pieces they do read.

Let’s say that a member reads 10 stories in a given month. It means their $5, the cost of a membership, would be divided by 10. That division is also done according to reading time, so a bigger share would go to the person whose piece they spent the longest time on.

My conclusion from the article is that we, as members of the Medium Community, can all make money if we turn our views into reads.

How can this be done?

Be a community! Be a team! Support each other!

Writing and reading each other is the only way to make money together!

Make sure to bank on higher and longer reads, rather than just strict views. Which, in the end, creates an extremely competitive, but incredibly rewarding system, because it’s like nature running its course and weeding out the weak: you either produce something worthwhile, or you fall behind. This extremely competitive system promotes honing your craft, and it almost forces you to become great, because without it, you cannot succeed.

I don’t accept this as a contest of who is the best at writing, as the author of the article suggests. I believe this is a way to show that being a part of a team and acting as one leads to the team’s overall success.

Created by the author on Midjourney

P.S. I know that each one of us is passionate about our writing. I am sure that all of us are magnificent talents who design a better world with our words.

When being together we are capable of creating the magical world!

There is a legend from Bulgaria that I would like to share with you.

Created by the author on Midjourney

Towards the end of his life, around the year 665 BC, the Bulgarian ruler Khan Kubrat gathered his 5 sons around his death bed. He was holding a bundle of sticks bound together. Khan Kubrat pulled one of the sticks out and easily crashed it in two. When he then tried to crash the entire bundle, he failed. This was his legacy for his sons: that if they to stay united, nothing could break them.

The End!

P.S. The world needs you!

Fildy Bejaoui “How Much You Can Earn On Medium Per 1000 Views”.

Please, read below.

--

--

Kremena Kirilova

Psychologist, Writer, Poet, Teacher, Positive Thinker, Animal and Nature lover, Dreamer "There are not impossible dreams, there is impossible thinking!"