BITS Capture the flag- challenge “TO BLIND TO SEE”

Ricky kumar
2 min readFeb 22, 2024

--

Introduction

This challenge was introduced by the BITS team at some point during the CTF event. From its title alone, it hinted at the presence of blind web-based vulnerabilities. Consequently, my initial action upon visiting the challenge website was to search for the login pages. This was prompted by the awareness that web-based vulnerabilities, such as blind SQL injection, are often found in login pages.

Within the web application, there was a functionality that redirected the user to the login page. Upon reaching this page, I noticed the presence of two types of logins.

first one is for user and second on is for admin.

After testing all the parameters with SQL payloads, I observed that the “username” parameter on the “/yesyoudidit” webpage is vulnerable to Blind SQL injection.

I utilized the tool called SQLmap to extract and dump all the data present in the SQL database.

In the database, I discovered email addresses and corresponding passwords that I could potentially use to log in as users.

After successfully logging in, I was able to retrieve the flag and complete the challenge.

Thank you for reading. Happy CTF finding. :)

--

--