Vertical Slice Complete

Kris Wolfe
4 min readDec 25, 2019

--

Moving along, I want the end game portion to transition like a cut scene. You build your fleet up, and stop the alien horde…or don’t and watch the earth explode.

For now we just have fighters, but capital ships and carriers and torpedo bombers, surface ion guns, orbital defenses will all be added. I don’t plan on allowing the player to control that, that seems like a large amount to code…maybe camera controls to skip around and watch your fleet. I’m not sure. For now though, I want the fighters to take off and engage the fleet, depending on how well you did in the econ portion.

I’ve got the night sky working now, but let’s put a frame of reference on it. The earth.

So now we have a count down timer, and the game transitions to this scene. Its nice, but we kinda wanna know what’s going on out there.

So now we got some counters on the edges, to see what we’re facing here.

So now we have our economy and our counter, and our cutscene transition at the end.

Found some bugs while trying to get the vertical slice working. This looked like way too many resources, and the first initial counter was 15 minutes. After doing some excel spreadsheet outlining, I came up with everything is either 5 or 10 second cycles for the raw resources, with 30 to 60 second cycles for the top tier stuff. Since it’s only 15 minutes, I ignored the robots.

I found it interesting, especially SINCE I FORGOT TO ALLOW YOU TO REMOVE BUILDINGS. You can remove the icons from the slots and they disappear, but there’s no message being sent to destroy the buildings, which will be what I code after this.

and voila, after 6 minutes, I already have enough drones to destroy the invasion fleet.

I don’t know how to express how I’ve actually made a game. My first game. This moment right here, I have an actual game, although it’s ugly and doesn’t have basic features like sound, but my little econ simulator allowed me to go through and get everything into a surplus, and build a fleet to destroy the invasion fleet.

I don’t really know how to express how proud I am, how I’ve worked 9 months coding to be at this where I win my own game.

Watching my 41 fighters destroy the invasion fleet of 15 was something else.

There’s a lot of work to be done. I feel like my game is only 1% done. But it’s a game. I need the ability to destroy and remove buildings. I’m going to make the icons bigger and start putting indicators on them like a bar that fills up as it creates resources. Change the color of a building (or the bar actually) if it shut downs because of lack of resources. Some floating text that pops up if you can’t do things like don’t have enough resources to build a building. I need to flesh out the tool tip, it’s bugging out as well.

So much to be done. But I have an actual game now. I’m a game developer.

--

--

Kris Wolfe
0 Followers

I am an aspiring game developer and enjoy making the games that I like to play