A Complete Guide to Living in Buenos Aires as a Foreigner

Kristin Wilson
8 min readSep 3, 2019

Despite Argentina’s ongoing currency crisis and uncertain political climate, its capital of Buenos Aires is still an excellent place to live — especially for foreigners seeking a low cost-of-living with a high quality of life.

I wanted to travel to Argentina since I was a freshman in high school. It would be 20 years before I got the chance, but it was worth the wait.

In November of 2018, I landed on the shores of Recife, Brazil, along with 500 other digital nomads on Nomad Cruise 7. While almost everyone stayed in Brazil for the following weeks and months, I took a solo flight to Buenos Aires the next day. The city didn’t disappoint. Although I could only stay for one month, I documented and experienced as much as I could while I was there. Today, I published a long-awaited video about living in Buenos Aires as an expat to share with others who are equally intrigued by this dynamic city.

First, some facts:

Puerto Madero, Buenos Aires. Photo: Kristin Wilson

--

--