How to Get the Original ChatGPT App by OpenAI Working Again on macOS Sequoia Beta Release 1

Kristoffer Sodersten
3 min readJun 18, 2024

--

Introduction

The latest beta version of macOS 15, named “Sequoia,” was announced by Apple during WWDC 2024 and is now available as a developer beta. The public beta is expected to be released later this summer, with the final version available in fall 2024.

New Features in macOS 15 Sequoia

macOS 15 Sequoia introduces several new features and improvements, including:

  • iPhone Mirroring: Allows users to mirror and interact with their iPhone directly from their Mac, using the keyboard and mouse to control iPhone apps.
  • Safari Enhancements: Features like “Highlights,” which use machine learning to highlight relevant information on web pages, and an updated “Reader” function that offers a summary and table of contents for articles.
  • Window Tiling: Automatically organizes windows on the screen for better multitasking.
  • Passwords App: A new app that replaces Keychain, making it easier to manage and synchronize passwords and security keys across Apple devices.
  • AI and Machine Learning: Deeper integration of AI to enhance features like Safari, Siri, and notes with Apple Intelligence and OpenAI ChatGPT 4.0.

macOS Sequoia will be compatible with all devices featuring Apple Silicon (M1, M2, etc.) as well as some older Intel-based models like the iMac Pro (2017) and MacBook Pro (2018).

The Compatibility Issue

As both an early adopter and a developer, I often strive to stay at the forefront of technology. This time, however, my well-functioning ChatGPT app developed by OpenAI, complete with voice chat functionality, was replaced by an app that is essentially just a link with the ChatGPT logo. Initially, I thought this was part of the integration between Apple and OpenAI, but I was disappointed to find out otherwise. Additionally, my older functional app had been deleted.

The Solution

Being an early user of ChatGPT and a loyal customer, I had access to a beta version early on, which worked perfectly. I spent half an hour searching through my email archives but couldn’t find the email with the included beta version.

I then searched online and found OpenAI’s download page: OpenAI ChatGPT Download.

The download went smoothly, but I encountered problems when trying to install the app. macOS would not accept opening ChatGPT_Desktop_public_latest.dmg. Instead, I had to use DAEMON Tools to open the image. I could then drag and drop the app into my Applications folder. When prompted to overwrite the old app, it wouldn’t work. I had to accept keeping both versions to add the functioning old app to my Applications.

Conclusion

This issue will likely be resolved with future updates, but for now, this is the solution I’ve found. I hope this guide helps others who might encounter the same problem and saves them the time I spent finding a working intermediate solution.

Call to Action

If you’ve faced similar issues or have additional tips, please share your experiences in the comments below. Let’s help each other make the most of our macOS upgrades!

--

--