The Black Square

Kriti Baid
2 min readSep 10, 2017

--

For this task, we were asked to arrange squares of varying sizes in eight different arrangements. We had to create a graphic image that best expresses the concept.

The hardest part of the challenge was to work with constraints that limited the scope for illustrating.

CONSTRAINTS

  1. We could use only SQUARES not any other shape.
  2. The color for the square was restricted to BLACK.
  3. We could use only 4 squares to create our design.
  4. CONCEPTS were restricted to Tension, Calmness, Chaos, Isolation, Community and Order.

I found this task very interesting as it made me think how I could depict these emotions in a box following the constraints and still being able to express my thoughts.

The first concept I worked on was ORDER. I took my inspiration from my day to day routine how we follow rules and regulations and follow consistency in our work routine. Out of the below 8 designs, the reason I chose the final design because it is explanatory. It best depicts the concept of order. All the squares placed are proportionate and aligned well, depicting regularity and consistency.

The second concept I chose was CHAOS. Here I got my inspiration from my daily travel in the local train. The rush and madness which depicts the hustle bustle of life along with the air pollution and the noisiness that adds up to the chaos. Out of the below 8 designs, I selected the final design because it replicates a setting that can be observed in a Mumbai local. There are no rules followed there and therefore it gets chaotic.

The third concept I worked on was TENSION. Nowdays, we tend to put our focus on various unnecessary and irrelevant things that generally doesn't add any value to our lives. People spend more time looking at their mobile phone screen than looking at faces behind it. All these things mount a lot of unwanted tension in ones life. Relationships have become fragile. The following 8 designs depicts inter personal tension in different forms. Out of these, I selected the final one because it shows how one personality can overpower the rest and also I could best relate to it.

--

--