Phoebe Buffay — My Soul Sister

Kritika Ponia
3 min readFeb 9, 2018

--

“I would want world peace, no more hunger, good things for the rain forest. . and bigger boobs!”

That’s pretty much what I wish for!

We often talk about our favorite FRIENDS character and most of us are bowled over. They are all so perfect, whom do we choose? My answer is clear though: PHOEBE BUFFAY. She has spoken my heart so many times, I can’t even remember.

It’s like she brings out everything I am scared to showcase even though I am feeling it inside. Here are a few such instances:

“I don’t even have a pla-“

This is basically me right now. My personal life and professional life, both are in a mess and I barely have a clue about my future.

Every time someone asks me what my plans are, I remember Phoebe and just how composed she is even through hard times. No matter how hard life gets she has a positive approach and is always upbeat.

She uses her music to vent when the need arises. We all remember “Jingle b*tch screwed me over” and “I hate Central Perk!” Don’t we?

“I wish I could but I don’t want to.”

Oh, what a polite and fun way of saying no! If she doesn’t want to do something, she doesn’t. Simple.

She has brutal and funny ways of getting out of things, which I really admire.

“Something is wrong with the left phalange!”

Her friends meant the world to hear and she went to great extents to be there for them. Remember the crazy ride to the airport in her grandma’s cab? Remember her trying to teach Joey French?

My friends are my world too and I am fiercely possessive about them.

“God, I love how sexy I am.”

Don’t we all feel so when we are proud of ourselves or something about ourselves? Phoebe just voices her pride and oh-so-beautifully! She also always stayed true to herself regardless of everything.

In one of the episodes (The One Where Phoebe Runs) we see her run carefree even though Rachel gets embarrassed. In fact, her confidence convinces Rachel to run in a similar manner! Confidence is contagious.

“Smelly cat, smelly cat. What are they feeding you?”

Even when her friends openly told her she was terrible, she never backed down from singing. She played her guitar and sang her songs no matter what others had to say about it. Result? Memorable songs for life for pretty much every situation.

Writing has always been my passion and even though I was discouraged when I started, I am so glad I pulled a Phoebe and stuck with it. :)

Does Phoebe Buffay reside inside you too?

--

--