My 2018 Reading List: Sci-Fi, Fantasy, & Non-fiction Recommendations

Kelly Shortridge
2 min readDec 17, 2018

--

Photo by Nong Vang on Unsplash

My perennial New Year’s resolution is to read one fiction and one non-fiction book per month. I tend to fail, and this year I only averaged 1.33 books per month (which, interestingly, is the same as last year; 2016 was 1.5 per month).

As you can tell from this list, I became a bit obsessed with afrofuturism and am still in awe of the immersive worldbuilding within the genre’s novels I read. I gravitated more towards fiction this year in general, which meant I snuck in fewer non-fiction books than usual (I did read more academic papers this year, but they’re far more arid).

If you’re looking for more science fiction, speculative fiction, or non-fiction recommendations, check out my 2017 and my 2016 reading lists.

Non-Fiction

Anticipating Surprise: Analysis for Strategic Warning by Cynthia M. Grabo

Behind Human Error by David D. Woods, Sidney Dekker, Richard Cook, Leila Johannesen, Nadine Sarter

The Book of Why: The New Science of Cause and Effect by Judea Pearl and Dana Mackenzie

Complexity: A Guided Tour by Melanie Mitchell

--

--

Kelly Shortridge

VP of Strategy @Capsule8. “In the information society, nobody thinks. We expected to banish paper, but we actually banished thought.”