Goodreads — Attempt 2

KHUSH GOSRANI
3 min readSep 13, 2017

--

Last time I tried to recreate the goodreads app and change the UI.

Since then I have gotten few feedbacks and I worked upon. The changes I made from the original redesign are:

New homepage of goodreads

SIGN IN AND SIGN UP PAGE:

In the new sign up page i.e the second image, i added the goodreads tag line also. Instead of boxes for username and password, I have added the lines. It makes the space look very open and not cluttered.

I have also coloured the sign up and sign in button to pop out the buttons.

In the new sign in page I have coloured the facebook and amazon login button also.

HOMEPAGE:

Redo of the Homepage

I have also added new things in the homepage. I have added the tabs of New releases, popular and navigation.

I have introduced the search bar in the homepage also. Also added the capability of see more button in new releases and the interviews section.

THE SEARCH PAGE:

Instead of having just images, I have added the ratings and the details of the book. From the original app the only change is that I have added the description of the book and removed the want to read button.

MY BOOKS

Changes the Icons of start reading. Also added the capability of see more button on this page.

THE BOTTOM NAVIGATION BAR

Changed the bottom navigation bar. The buttons were too huge. In the new bar I have made the icons size proper and made the floating icon properly highlighted.

These are the new changes I have made from the old redesign.

Link to the Attempt 1 :

https://medium.com/@kssgosrani/goodreads-redesign-attempt-1-23b70e0d438

--

--

KHUSH GOSRANI

Investor | Trader | Market aficionado| Aspiring UX designer | Will be posting my thoughts on the markets soon.