Top 15 Songs of the Decade

Keaton Sunchild
2 min readDec 23, 2019

--

Since every podcast, blog post, and organization I follow seemed to be putting out of the decade lists, I thought I would have some fun and put up some of my favorite songs, concerts, books, and moments from the last 10 years of my life.

You’ve found yourself looking at my top 15 songs. Music has always been an outlet for me when I’m having a bad day, or I need something to dance to. While I’m not very good at singing or playing any instrument, I still consider music to be a big part of my life. I enjoy the meaning of words, and so some of the songs listed may be some you have never heard of, but the lyrics were relatable to something going on in my story, or just were good for riding in the car.

Honorable Mentions: That’s My Kinda Night, Luke Bryan; Sunrise, Sunburn, Sunset, Luke Bryan; Mind Reader, Dustin Lynch; It Goes Like This, Thomas Rhett; Ain’t Worth The Whiskey, Cole Swindell.

15. Rollercoaster, Luke Bryan

I should’ve known that kind of feelin’ would last longer than that week did.”

14. Girls Like You, Maroon 5

When I come through, I need a girl like you”

13. In Case You Didn’t Know, Brett Young

I would be lyin if I said that I could live this life without you.”

12. Middle of a Memory, Cole Swindell

How you gonna leave me, right in the middle of a memory”

11. Remember You Young, Thomas Rhett

For worse or for better, from now ’til forever, I’ll always remember you young.”

10. Light it Up, Luke Bryan

If you’re lookin’ for my love, then light it up.”

9. Just the Way You Are, Bruno Mars

And when you smile, the whole world stops and stares for awhile.”

8. Chillin’ It, Cole Swindell

I got my shades on, top back rollin’ with the music jacked.”

7. Mercy, Brett Young

If you’re gonna break my heart, just break it. And if you’re gonna take your shot, just take it.”

6. Fast, Luke Bryan

Keep tryin to make the good times last as long as you can’t, but you can’t, man it just goes too fast.”

5. Die a Happy Man, Thomas Rhett

If I never get to see the Northern Lights or if I never get to see the Eiffel Tower at night, if all I got is your hand in my hand, I could die a happy man.”

4. Chapters, Brett Young ft. Gavin DeGraw

“ There’s no perfect life, you can’t hold back time, but you hold on tight, hopin’ you might find, every page you’ve turned is a lesson learned.”

3. Payphone, Maroon 5

But even the suns sets in paradise”

2. Drunk on You, Luke Bryan

Girl you make my speakers boom boom”

  1. Most People Are Good, Luke Bryan

I believe if you just go by the nightly news, your faith in all mankind would be the first thing you’d lose. I believe most people are good and most Mama’s oughta qualify for sainthood.”

--

--