How to find your flow

Gregory Kubin
3 min readJun 27, 2017

--

A founder wears many hats.

Initially, there is no way around it.

She needs to:

Build, sell, hire, fire, have money in the bank, and fix flat tires.

Most people only excel in a few of those areas; yet in the early days founders have to complete all of them.

If no one does it, it won’t get done.

It’s one of the hard things about hard things.

As a result, founders often get stretched thin. Thinner than a french crepe.

I’ve been there, so I did something about it.

I identified how to find my flow.

Flow is when you’re so immersed in the moment that time stops.

You’re in the zone. Feelin’ it. You’re brain releases that sweet dopamine and oxytocin.

It enables you to take in more information, link ideas together, and generally kick more ass.

But the thing is, you only flow during activities that tap into your natural talents and skills you’ve acquired. I flow when I write (including this article).

The alternative is non-flow. Non-flowing tasks sap your energy.

I lose energy doing routine and administrative tasks like drafting employment contracts or master subscription agreements (typical ENFP).

It actually gives me a headache.

For too long, I thought I had to do everything. I took on flowing and non-flowing tasks — sometimes out of necessity, but often out of blindness.

If you’ve found yourself in my shoes, I recommend a simple exercise (inspired by Designing Your Life) that helps you maximize the time you spend flowing.

Which should make you more productive. And happier.

Here’s how it works:

List each task you do on a daily basis. Be specific (For references, I looked at my gmail calendar and trello board for all the items I have to get done).

Create two columns: (1) Flow (2) Non-flow

Flow = I’m good at it and it gets me in the zone.

Non-flow: I suck at it and saps my energy.

Place each task in the respective column.

For each flow item, pat yourself on the back 3 times for doing your thang.

For each non-flow task, identify 3 ways you can move the item off your plate. For example, lets say legal paperwork is weighing you down. Here are 3 actionable ideas: (1) send all contracts to your law firm (expensive option) (2) hire an on-demand lawyer on Upcounsel (cheaper option) (3) call your stepmom who is a divorce attorney but can probably give you an answer or point you in the right direction (cheapest option). Each of these options is feasible! I almost included a fourth option (to take a relevant course or get a law degree), but this likely won’t solve your flow problem.

This technique is meant to help you re-focus on what you excel at and punt the fugly stuff.

With one important caveat: It’s important to do the non-flow items a few times before delegating it. This will enable you to have more fluid conversations with the person you’ve passed the task off to.

Outsized returns from come focusing on your best work.

Imagine how much headspace opens up when you’re solely operating in your flow state.

Soon enough you’ll be at your best.

*This technique can be applied to corporate environments as well. A manager can then take feedback from employees to re-allocate assignments based on employee flow states.

--

--