Coins of Connection

DreamStories
3 min readSep 11, 2023

--

Amidst the dense jungle, I ventured alone for the third time. But this visit felt different — a purpose lingered in the air, a mysterious pull drawing me deeper into the wilderness.

Suddenly, the verdant landscape transformed into something unfamiliar, though an overwhelming sense of love still permeated the surroundings. I found myself inside a wooden house on the second floor. Before me stood a woman with golden-brown hair, crowned by a soft blue halo. She didn’t utter a word, yet her intentions were clear: “Bring me with you, I’m meant to be with you.”

Our hands met, and reality blurred once again, returning me to the jungle. The woman shape-shifted into a graceful calf and vanished into the underbrush. Before me loomed a jaguarand a goat, their eyes imploring. On the ground lay two golden coins, spaced along a faint trail. I picked them up and continued through the thickening foliage until I reached a serene river, its unusual stillness unsettling.

As I walked along the riverbank, I encountered a dignified alligator, its presence shocking me. Suddenly, I was back in the wooden house within the warm village. Two elderly individuals sat in chairs, their gazes fixed on me. A frantic mother rushed upstairs, gesturing frantically as if searching for something.

Perplexed by her actions, I returned my attention to the elderly pair. They exchanged a knowing look, then silently motioned for me to ride the now-awakened alligator. On its back, I noticed brass and silver fractionals, sparking an idea. Placing one of my golden coins on the alligator’s back, it obligingly opened its mouth, allowing me to cross the river unharmed.

The landscape on this side differed drastically, with abundant food sources. An unseen force restrained me from straying too far. The jaguarand goat reappeared, now famished. I tossed my remaining coins into the river, conjuring food for them, and they departed, sated. However, Aurora, the calf-turned-woman, stumbled into view, her hunger apparent. With no more coins, I urged the animals to search while I remained on this side.

Dulcinea fell once more, and I realized her fate was dire. The alligator ominously approached, sealing her destiny.

Panic surged, transporting me to the familiar surroundings of my high school. However, it was a strange class with an unlikable teacher. A shrill voice shattered the silence — “Moraco!” I braced for conflict, sensing impending trouble. The world spun as a failing test landed on my desk, and the spinning transported me to simpler times, reminiscent of a late nineties Japanese video game.

Amidst vibrant colors and interconnected thought bubbles, I felt comfort. Yet, as if on cue, my childhood fear, a massive centipede, surged toward me with unnatural speed. To my relief, it transformed into an alligator. A chain of negative thought bubbles coalesced, and I hurled them over the colossal reptile, forcing it back into the icy waters.

Turning around, I found Aurora, the angelic presence, now back in human form. As our eyes met, a profound connection blossomed, resolving the story’s enigmatic journey.

--

--