The Hippies Had It Right

Love and Respect are truly the most important, yet scarce, forces in our world.

Heather Lee (Dyer) Perrault

--

When I was a young girl I had a lot of bad experiences at school. The problem during these early years was that I was the dirty hippie child. I lived in the mountains of Montana on ninety-one acres with nine other families, made up of single women with children.

I was raised to love and respect all people, take care of our Earth, and adore anything space or science-related. My mom made sure I spent time in community classes that taught computers as well as learning how to spot edible plants.

Although living off a paper-carrier wage, my mom was keen on exposing me to as many new experiences as we could find. It took her many years to get her college degree on account of raising me by herself. But these universities always afforded us diverse and unique experiences that we would never have encountered while living in Montana.

We interviewed civil rights leaders for the school newspaper. We watched the space program grow. Mom used to work for the Apollo 1 program so we had contacts that would talk to me about rockets. And every year I held my mom’s hand as we marched in what today would be similar to a pride parade. Back then it was usually only women that walked from the university to the…

--

--

Heather Lee (Dyer) Perrault

Nomadic Writer. Author of YA Sci-Fy and UF books! Author Success Coach. Lupus Thriver! www.heatherleedyer.com