Py Log #32: .exe (yes we built it)

nubb
2 min readNov 25, 2023

Hello Medium! It’s Friday, and time for another log entry as always. We’ve got a decent bit of stuff to chat about this time around, so let’s get to the details.

(still can’t get over how great this show was lol)

So What Have I Been Up To Lately?

Literally bug fixing.

We basically managed to fix everything mentioned in the last log, except the audio and models stuff (bullet casings and gun sfx, but visual feedback is noteworthy). There really isn’t much else to talk about besides that, but I’ll go ahead and give you guys my next steps.

  1. Complete audio and models for all weapons.
  2. Complete ADS functionality (animated movement) and flair (basically, depth of field while ADSed, slightly darkened surroundings, etc.)
  3. More movement tech (Crouching maybe, jumping (now that gravity and terrain works), and possibly teleportation.)
  4. Conceptualize UI for later implementation (basically take bits of other UIs from other games and piece together our own take on such.)

It sounds like a lot, but we can (hopefully) get this done decently quick, as seen many times. I should be able to get audio and models finished next Monday, then get ADS functionality on Wednesday or Tuesday, and Movement tech on Friday to close off everything. I’ll wedge in UI concepts during my free time next week as well.

Also, if you guys couldn’t tell by the title. Yes, I made a running build of the game to properly test. I’ve concluded that Builds are the best way to test stuff since that’s where we have more stable performance and can see how the finished product would look.

Final Thoughts

And that’s all I got for now! Before I go, big thanks to Ram Vadranam for 1 clap on the last log entry! It truly does mean a lot to me to know that other people are interested in this project.

Thanks a bunch for reading this log entry Medium! I’ll see you guys next week with hopefully all our major bugs fixed!

(Seeing these “flowers (honestly unsure what else they could be lel)” reminds me a lot of Lycoris Recoil. Another banger show. Also, I must ask, why tf do anime originals pack so much heat? They’re all awesome until you realize that they’re gone after the first season.)

--

--

nubb

Some guy programming and telling the world about it || Check out my projects here: https://github.com/nubbsterr