Py Log #7: Remember, No Python(?)

nubb
2 min readSep 28, 2023

--

Hello Medium. I’ve spent the better part of nearly 9-ish hours tinkering in Unity with my 3D project, and missing my Python practice. Let’s just say, things did not go as planned.

(Nijika. That is all.)

So What Have I Been Up To Lately?

Ugh, how do I put this? A LOT. But also not much. I had a day off from school today, and spent a ton (all of it to be honest…) of time working on Stellarscape. Well, things did not work out. I tried implementing jumping this time around, and oh my gosh. WOW. I never thought I could have a worse experience with programming, but I think we did it today. Straight MISERY for like 8 hours, of non-stop pain and failed model imports. I am trying to get models to work with Unity, but oh my GOODNESS are they annoying sometimes. Maybe it is just my monke brain and limited intellect, but jeez louise, that just, wasn’t fun. I’ve since reverted the project back to a literally shell of itself, and have gone back to it having just walking and sprinting, both of which appearing to work as intended.

Despite that, I still need to clear the hurdle of getting jumping to actually work, and models in, and animating walking and sprinting animations (yay…) Like, real talk here, but after what happened today, I have nothing but MOUNTAINS of respect for solo devs. How tf do you guys do it…

Anyways, I’ll be continuing the project as normal, and try reaching out for help on forums like reddit and stack overflow. And finally, if you couldn’t tell by the title (and the sentence at the beginning), I didn’t do any python practice today, which was definitely a waste. Like:

  • Had 0 fun today.
  • Could’ve learnt more about Python instead.
  • Python.
  • And lastly, Python.

Needless to say, I shot myself in the foot today.

Final Thoughts

It’s getting late for me, and I’m crazy exhausted from today. I’ve got more school tomorrow as well, which isn’t helping the situation. Regardless, I’ll be back at you guys with another story at around this time range (7–9EST).

Goodnight, Medium. Don’t forget to brush your teeth.

(I LOVE UNITY, I LOVE UNITY, I LOVE UNITY)

--

--

nubb

Some guy programming and telling the world about it || Check out my projects here: https://github.com/nubbsterr