Py Log #8: Unit Testing (?)

nubb
2 min readSep 30, 2023

--

Welcome back, Medium! I’ve got some more details for ya’ll, and I’ll keep this nice and short so you can guys can go off and do cool things :) Anyways, let’s get down to it!

(Kita :D)

So What Have I Been Up To Lately?

A decent bit of work, here and there. I did some more Python practice yesterday (Thursday when this story goes live!), and learnt about unit testing, which was very cool and very complex. Like, I can’t imagine how these people program this stuff! It’s just, beyond me honestly. Anyways, I did some of that, and also some more Unity progress (sorta).

Though, of course, it didn’t go as planned. Jumping is ridiculously annoying to implement, and I have no clue why. Especially with me having no character model to visually look at for a clear representation of whether or not stuff is working. Like, I look at the Player Gameobject’s position, and I move a tiny bit, then FALL THROUGH THE GROUND OBJECT? Like, huh!? What the hell sort of wizardry is going on here? So as the impatient brat that I am, I decided to completely axe jumping AND crouching from Stellarscape (for now). I plan to move on to setting up shooting mechanics next, but for the time being, jumping is not going to be touched.

Final Thoughts

As usual, it’s late, and time to end another Py Log. But before I clock out, I wanna give a HUGE thank you” to Alexandra Grosu and Ella Harris for 53 claps on the last Py Log, I was not expecting that kind of response for a tiny blog post.

Thanks a bunch, Medium. See ya’ll next week!

(JJK Season 2 is soo good!)

--

--

nubb

Some guy programming and telling the world about it || Check out my projects here: https://github.com/nubbsterr