Frappuccino vs Frappe

Kurt Culbertson
3 min readMar 24, 2018

What is the drink pictured below?

Image Source: Starbucks.com

Most obviously, it’s a Starbucks Crystal Ball Frappuccino®. I had the pleasure of making and tasting my own today. But what happens when a customer orders a “Frappe” at Starbucks? Can this drink ever be argued to be called a “Crystal Ball Frappe?” In addition to the response on any reddit thread you find on /r/starbucks when you search “frappe” (here’s one I commented in: https://www.reddit.com/r/starbucks/comments/8160o2/say_it_with_me/; and I just have to admire the commenters’ workplace brand dedication, as I have found myself saying Frappe instead of what my store actually sells: Frappuccinos®), I’ve had this conversation with my coworkers and manager, myself. SPOILER: I (/u/xX-Coffee-Eater-Xx) may end up eating my words later in this article.

So let’s get to the bottom of it. What’s in the picture. What’s a frappe, what’s a Frappuccino, and what are the differences?

Frappe (and/or Frappé Coffee):

Frappes come from an original 1957 Greek recipe, according to Wikipedia. The name comes from French wine terminology meaning “chilled with ice” (yes, all of this is coming from Wikipedia’s article, “Frappé coffee”). The original Nescafe test recipe was a chocolate beverage shaken with ice. A Nescafe employee experimented using instant coffee, ice, cold water (and no chocolate…

--

--