CS373 Spring 2022 Week 8: Kushal Dandamudi

Kushal Dandamudi
2 min readMar 10, 2022

--

What did you do this past week?

This past week, I have been managing a lot of different projects before going home for the break next week. Although I didn’t have too many assignments due this week, I am hoping not to have to do too much work over the break, so I want to get most of it done. One of the main assignments I have been working on is the SWE phase 2 where I have been helping work on the backend to have a plan to setup our database and API.

What’s in your way?

There isn’t too much that has been in my way this week. I guess one thing that is still slightly in my way would be my fractured foot. Although, I’ve gotten used to it over the past few weeks, it has still been a hinderance in my daily lifestyle.

What will you do next week?

Next week will be spring break, so I will definitely be using it to recharge before we come back to finish the semester. In addition to this, the company I am interning at (Optiver) will be flying me out to Chicago for a few days towards the end of spring break which I am looking forward to and should be fun. Despite this, I will also be doing a little work each day to make sure I am not too far behind when school starts the following week.

What did you think of Paper #8: Interface Segregation Principle?

This paper was a very interesting read because it introduced some new concepts to me which had interesting tradeoffs. One cool thing to me was reading about these concepts from old papers when they were first introduced since these are much more established practices today.

What was your experience of comprehensions and yield? (this question will vary, week to week)

Comprehensions and yield have been a really cool concept that has been interesting to learn. Although I’ve worked with python in the past, these are topics that I haven’t worked with before and have been new to me.

What made you happy this week?

One big thing that has made me happy this week is knowing that spring break has been coming up. After having a really busy last few weeks, I have been looking forward to taking a break for the next week.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My tip of the week is that when looking for data, in addition to APIs, scraping websites is another great option. When working on the project, I noticed that it was hard to find APIs that would provide some data, but by scraping some websites with standard URL formats I could easily find some important data.

--

--