Christmas With the King (Or Elvis, Magic, Music & Joy)

35 million listeners, 3 recommended songs, one magical moment

Kyle Erik, J.D.
3 min readDec 16, 2023
Photo by Christian Lambert | Unsplash

Elvis was alive: to begin with. There is no doubt whatever about that.

Here, in Spirit of Christmas Past, is a tale of the magic Presley’s music gifted one family some 30 years past.

An early memory, sweet and tender, Elvis at Christmas.

But not any Christmas. The one I got my very own, very first, portable stereo — a boombox, as we called ’em back then.

By today’s standards, it was nothing special; back then, it was everything.

AM/FM? Check.

Cassette player? Indeed.

CD player? Oh my goodness, hallelujah, yes!

And into it, Elvis’ Christmas album. And out of it, pure joy.

🎵 Only fools rush in

Funny thing is, I knew I was getting a stereo that year. I’d spied it in my parents’ room weeks before.

I don’t know why, but on a car ride to visit my grandparents, probably on some random Tuesday before music lessons, I said to my Mom, “I was thinking. I might like a CD player for Christmas.”

--

--

Kyle Erik, J.D.

✨ Fortune 100 speaker, essayist, pencil advocate. Writes about creativity, productivity, positive psychology, and other mindful glimmers. Stay creative! ✨