5 Amazing Benefits of Eating Pretty Much the Same Thing All The Time

Kyle Nichol
7 min readApr 19, 2023
Photo by Henley Design Studio on Unsplash

I love food, and I love to eat.

It’s in my DNA.

My mom was a great cook, as was my grandmother, and I managed to pick up a few tips from watching them both.

As a kid, I’d come home from grade school, walk in the front door, and often get smacked in the face with the smell of liver and onions.

If I close my eyes, I can almost smell it now.

Wait, what?

Liver and onions are gross, you say?

Trust me, if it was my grandma’s recipe, there’s a good chance you’d eat it.

While the mere thought of liver and onions would likely have sent most 8- or 9-year-olds running for the neighbor’s house in sheer horror and disgust, I couldn’t wait to dig in.

Regardless of what was on the menu and whether it was my mom or grandma preparing it, the smell of onion and garlic regularly permeated our house.

A love of food and bold flavors was planted in me early, and it only grew from there, along with, unfortunately, my belly.

I enjoyed eating so much when I was a kid that when my mom would take me clothes shopping, rather than just walk around to find the boy’s section of the store, she felt the need…

--

--

Kyle Nichol

Author of Mind, Body & Money. Exploring personal development and self-improvement in our mental, physical and financial health. https://kyle-nichol.com/bonus/