Meet the softball senior class of 2020: Madison Harris

Kyle Skibinski
3 min readMay 14, 2020

--

Madison Harris throws a ball in from the outfield. (Photo by: Jan Salmon)

Madison Harris had waited patiently for her time to shine. During her first three years in the Southeast softball program, Harris appeared in 123 games but had started only 32. However, this season she carved out a starting role and was ready for her time to shine.

“I’ve learned a lot about myself the last three years,” Harris said. “I was here for the team, and that was my focus, but this year was my year.”

Harris had taken full advantage of her opportunity. Across 17 games, Harris had started 14 of them and was hitting .278 with a .350 on-base percentage and five runs batted in.

Then, just as quickly as her opportunity came, it was taken away when COVID-19 ended Southeast’s season, and with it, Harris’ career.

“It’s unbelievable that something like this ended my career,” Harris said. “But I’m forever thankful for those 15 games I did start in this season.”

Harris finished her career with .235 average, 2 home runs and 25 RBIs. She also had 14 career assists from the outfield.

Madison Harris prepares to take a swing. (Photo by: Jan Salmon)

Harris, a native of Imperial, Missouri, came to Southeast following an all-state level career at Windsor High School. She immediately jumped into nursing classes along with playing softball. Nursing is one of the most stringent programs at Southeast, and some people said Harris could simply not do both, — at some point she would have to choose.

“I’ve had a lot of people tell me, especially from the nursing side, you’re not going to be able to do it,” Harris said. “You’re going to have to pick one because there’s never been an athlete go through the nursing program.”

As the old saying goes, there’s a first time for everything, and Harris pulled it off. She graduates at the end of this semester with a degree in nursing while having played softball all four years.

Harris didn’t just get by, she thrived. She made the Ohio Valley Conference Commissioner’s honor roll three times and earned the OVC Medal of Honor in 2017–18.

“I did it and I proved them all wrong,” Harris said. “Thankfully my team and my coaches were with me every step of the way.”

Harris will take her board tests in June and begin working her dream job at St. Louis Children’s Hospital in July.

“Getting my dream job has played a part in why I’m OK,” Harris said. “I would give anything to play with my team again and finish this season out, but the reality is we can’t, so you have to look at the positives.”

Harris is also not quite done with softball yet, as she is going to play slow pitch softball and come down to Redhawks softball games when her schedule permits.

So if you’re in the St. Louis area playing slow pitch softball and see Harris stepping to the plate. it would probably be best to start backing up, — it’s for your own good.

--

--