How to create a Ripple paper wallet

Kyle Shank
1 min readJan 13, 2018

--

Serious.

Ripple doesn’t appear to offer or endorse any particular wallets for their network. Some quick searching found a few uninspiring solutions so I decided that a paper wallet would be best for now.

Paper wallet generator websites always freak me out. I don’t trust them. One spying script could grab your secret key. Paranoid, I searched for some official code that I could run on my machine myself and generate locally. After searching through the Ripple official Github repo I settled on ripple-keypairs.

Here is how I created my paper wallet from the command line. The only requirement is that you have Node installed.

From the terminal type: npm install ripple-keypairs

Then launch the node shell: node

And type:

const xrp = require('ripple-keypairs')
const secret = xrp.generateSeed()
const keypair = xrp.deriveKeypair(secret)
const address = xrp.deriveAddress(keypair.publicKey)
"My address is: " + address
"My secret is: " + secret

Print out the contents of the terminal to a sheet of paper and place it into a fireproof safe. This is 2018 after all.

If you want to transfer XRP from an exchange (like I did) into this new paper wallet only provide the public address from above. Never give your secret to anyone.

--

--