Places to Cry: 3rd Street Promenade, Santa Monica

Kylie Anderson
1 min readApr 4, 2017

--

There is a patio space downstairs from my old office where I sometimes took personal phone calls. I have cried here before work, during my lunch break, a couple times when my Uber pool cancelled at the last minute, and once while waiting for a ride home from a friend who works down the street.

The calls are all different, but the nature of them is generally the same. That is, if they are too important to text and can’t wait until 6pm, they are likely to make me cry. For example, I once found out my identity had been stolen while sitting on a bench facing the lobby.

The fact that this is an outdoor spot means you can wear sunglasses while you cry, so even if your co workers come down for lunch or coffee they can’t see your eyes and will still wave like they think you’re just on the phone catching up with a friend.

This spot is even better for crying if you do not work in this office.

★☆☆☆☆ 1/5 — Don’t cry where you eat

--

--

Kylie Anderson

Writer. She/her. Read me on Complex, BUST, & Junior Hi Mag.